Saturday, June 16, 2018

2017 PEN Southwest Book Award Winners

PEN Texas announcee the winners of the 2017 Southwest Book Awards on June 11, 2018. The winners in each category receive a $500 prize.

Hollow: A Novel (Soft Skull Press) by Austin's Owen Egerton has won the 2017 PEN Southwest Book Award for fiction. Y'all can read my Lone Star Literary Life review of Hollow here.

Amarillo's Chera Hammons is the winner of the 2017 PEN Southwest Poetry Award for The Traveler’s Guide to Bomb City (Purple Flag). Y'all can read our Lone Star Literary Life review here

Edward McPherson won the 2017 PEN Southwest Creative Nonfiction Award for The History of the Future: American Essays (Coffee House Press).

Congratulations to all of the winners! I'm going to go buy McPherson's book. I haven't read it yet. 

No comments:

Post a Comment